Every price below was read off the vendor’s own live pricing page on 7 September 2026. Four vendors would not show us their prices at all, and we say which rather than borrowing a number from a comparison site.
But the pricing is not the most useful thing here. Two facts will save you more time and risk than any subscription decision: why your PDF will not let you edit its text, and why a black box over a name does not hide it.

Why you cannot edit the text in your PDF
A PDF is not a document in the Word sense. It is a page-description format. It stores instructions — place this glyph at this coordinate, in this font, at this size. There is no paragraph object, no reflow model, no record that this line belongs to that heading.
So every editor offering “edit text” is doing reconstruction: it looks at glyph positions, infers where lines and paragraphs probably are, lets you retype, then re-lays out its guess. That is why results vary so much between tools and between documents.
And there are two completely different files both called PDF:
- Native or digital PDF — exported from Word, InDesign, a browser, an accounting system. Contains real text objects and embedded font data. Text editing works, within limits.
- Scanned or image PDF — a photograph of paper wrapped in a PDF container. Contains one large image per page and zero text. No editor can edit it, because there is nothing to edit.
The OCR misunderstanding
For a scan you need OCR, which recognises characters and adds a text layer. But here is the part that catches people: OCR usually does not make a scan editable, only searchable.
The standard output is a “searchable PDF” — the original image on top, recognised text hidden underneath. You can select, copy and search. But if you retype a word, you are editing the invisible layer while the visible picture stays exactly as it was. To genuinely edit a scan, the tool must replace the image region with rendered text. Acrobat, Foxit and ABBYY do this to varying degrees, and the result rarely matches the original scan’s appearance. Anyone promising seamless editing of scanned documents is overselling.
Why the font changes when you edit one word
PDFs embed fonts, but usually subset-embedded: only the glyphs actually used are included. A document containing the word “Hello” embeds H, e, l and o, and nothing else. Type a “z” and the font has no glyph for it, so the editor either substitutes a different font for the whole run, or falls back to something metrically similar.
If the font is not embedded at all, or its licence forbids editing, substitution happens immediately. This is a property of the format, not a bug in the software, and no product fully solves it.
The practical rule: if you have the source file, edit the source and re-export. Editing the PDF is a last resort for documents you did not author.
Redaction: the black box that leaks
This one has caused real, published breaches — court filings, government disclosures, redacted contracts — every single year.
Drawing a black rectangle over text does not remove the text. The rectangle is a new drawing object placed on top. The characters underneath remain in the content stream. Anyone can select the “hidden” text and copy it, run a text extractor over the file, or simply delete the annotation layer.
True redaction is a two-step operation:
- Mark the regions for redaction.
- Apply — the tool deletes the underlying text and image data from the content stream and draws the black box in its place.
If your tool has only one step, it is not redacting. In Acrobat and Foxit, “Apply Redactions” is a separate, deliberate, irreversible click, and the file must be saved afterwards.
Three traps that survive even proper redaction:
- Metadata. Author, title, keywords and any embedded original filename survive. Sanitise separately — Acrobat has “Sanitize Document”; on the command line,
exiftool -all=strips most of it. - Attachments, layers, bookmarks, comments and JavaScript are separate structures and are untouched by redacting page content.
- Scanned documents. Redacting the invisible OCR layer while leaving the visible image intact — or the reverse — is a common failure. Redact after OCR, then verify.
Always verify. Run this on the finished file:
pdftotext redacted.pdf - | grep -i "the secret word"
If it returns anything, the redaction failed. That takes ten seconds and it is the difference between a redaction and a headline.
The prices we could verify
Adobe Acrobat — three tiers, three billing mechanics
Adobe sells the same three tiers on three different billing mechanics, and “monthly” means something different in each column. This is the single biggest source of published errors about Acrobat pricing.
| Plan | Annual, billed monthly | Annual, prepaid | Month-to-month |
|---|---|---|---|
| Acrobat Standard | $14.99/mo | not listed | not listed |
| Acrobat Pro | $19.99/mo | $239.88/yr | $29.99/mo |
| Acrobat Studio | $24.99/mo | $299.88/yr | $34.99/mo |
Read the cancellation terms before you pick a column. Annual billed monthly carries a 12-month commitment, and Adobe states a fee applies of up to half your remaining commitment if you cancel after 14 days. Annual prepaid has no refund after 14 days. Month-to-month can be cancelled anytime with no fee — and costs 50 per cent more.
Acrobat Studio is new and now carries Adobe’s “Best value” badge. It is Acrobat Pro plus PDF Spaces, Acrobat AI Assistant and Adobe Express Premium, at $5 a month above Pro. Worth it if you will use those; waste if you will not.
For teams, the same tiers cost $2 to $5 per user per month more: Standard $16.99, Pro $23.99 ($287.88 prepaid), Studio $29.99 ($359.88 prepaid). You are paying for the admin console and deployment tooling, not extra editing features. Self-serve caps at 10 licences.
Everyone else
| Tool | Price | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Foxit PDF Editor | $129.99/user/yr | Annual subscription, 300 AI credits/month |
| Foxit PDF Editor+ | $159.99/user/yr | Annual subscription |
| Foxit PDF Editor 14 | $209.99 one-time | Perpetual licence, version-locked |
| Foxit AI Assistant add-on | $49.99/yr | 2,000 AI credits/month |
| PDF Expert yearly | $79.99/yr | iPhone + iPad + Mac |
| PDF Expert lifetime | $139.99 one-time | Mac only — not iOS |
| Sejda Week Pass | $5 for 7 days | One-time, non-recurring |
| Sejda Desktop + Web | $63/user/yr | Annual |
| Xodo Document Suite | $8.99/mo annual ($107.88/yr) or $14.99 monthly | Web + desktop + mobile |
| PDFgear | $0 | Free, no signup, no paid tier advertised |
Two things in that table deserve a second look.
Foxit is the only mainstream vendor still selling a real perpetual editor. At $209.99 against $129.99 a year, it pays back in about 19 months. The trade is version lock: no feature updates, and eventual OS-compatibility drift.
PDF Expert’s lifetime licence is Mac only, while the subscription covers iOS too. Anyone buying “lifetime” expecting the iPad app will be unhappy. That asymmetry is easy to miss on the page.
And Sejda’s $5 seven-day Web Week Pass is genuinely unusual — nothing else in this market sells a week. If you need one job done and never again, buy it, finish, let it expire.
Four vendors would not show us a price
- Nitro. The pricing page renders plan names and billing bases but the dollar figures do not load server-side. Plus and Enterprise are explicitly “Contact Sales.” Nitro Classic is a Windows-only perpetual three-year licence. We are not publishing a Nitro price.
- UPDF. Three separate pricing URLs all served unresolved template variables. The structure is verifiable — yearly auto-renew or lifetime, four devices per licence, separate AI, Sign and Productivity Suite purchases. The prices are not. UPDF also runs near-permanent percentage-off sales, so any figure you capture is a promo rather than a list price.
- Smallpdf. Prices serve as placeholders on both the pricing and business pages. Tier names are verified; the free tier has a daily download cap with no published number, Sign limited to 2 documents a month, and AI tools capped at 50 MB and 25,000–35,000 words.
- Adobe’s data-retention and AI-training policy. Both relevant Adobe pages returned 404 on the day we checked. Adobe has publicly said it does not train generative AI on customer documents, but we could not confirm that from a live Adobe page, so we are not stating it as verified.
One shift worth noting across the whole category: nobody in this set advertises watermarking free output any more. The commercial lever in 2026 is daily task caps and file-size caps.
Where your file physically goes
This matters enormously for legal, medical and HR documents, and it is where free web tools are most dangerous.
| Tool | What its own policy says |
|---|---|
| Sejda | “All user-uploaded files as well as the processed output files will be permanently deleted after upload or processing respectively.” No backups. No specific duration given. Sejda Desktop is the correct choice for sensitive files |
| Smallpdf | “If you access our services via a User Account, we delete User Files within one hour unless you save them.” TLS in transit. ISO 27001 is not mentioned in the privacy notice |
| PDF24 | “All files are automatically deleted from the processing server within one hour after processing.” Can be removed manually immediately. Crucially: PDF24 Creator desktop “works offline” and files never leave your machine |
| Stirling PDF | “Stirling PDF doesn’t store any files or data on them. It operates fully within your local network.” Self-hosted |
The architectural point. Desktop applications process on your machine — though several also offer cloud OCR or AI features that do upload. AI is the new leak: an assistant summarising your PDF is, by definition, sending its content to a server.
A very small number of browser tools genuinely process client-side via WebAssembly, but almost no vendor documents this clearly enough to rely on. If a page says “your files never leave your browser,” verify it: open DevTools, watch the Network tab, and see whether an upload fires when you drop the file. Two minutes, and definitive.
For privileged, medical or HR documents: use local desktop software or self-hosted Stirling PDF. Not a free web tool, regardless of its deletion promise. A one-hour retention window is still a window, and a deletion policy is a promise rather than a control.
The free routes that genuinely work
The commands below were executed and verified in a shell on 7 September 2026 with qpdf 11.9.0.
qpdf — the right default for structural work
Lossless, fast, no re-rendering. Merge two files:
qpdf --empty --pages a.pdf b.pdf -- merged.pdf
Extract a page range:
qpdf a.pdf --pages a.pdf 2-3 -- split.pdf
Burst into one file per page:
qpdf --split-pages a.pdf out-page.pdf
Rotate page 1 by 90 degrees (drop the :1 to rotate all pages):
qpdf --rotate=+90:1 a.pdf rotated.pdf
Remove a password you already know:
qpdf --password=secret --decrypt encrypted.pdf decrypted.pdf
One honest caveat: qpdf is not a compressor. Its recompression options run, but on our test file the output was actually larger, because linearisation adds overhead. It does not touch images, which is where the size is.
Ghostscript — the real compressor
gs -sDEVICE=pdfwrite -dCompatibilityLevel=1.4 \
-dPDFSETTINGS=/ebook -dNOPAUSE -dQUIET -dBATCH \
-sOutputFile=small.pdf input.pdf
Use /screen for smallest, /ebook for the usual sweet spot at 150 dpi, /printer or /prepress for 300 dpi. Ghostscript works by re-rendering, so it downsamples images and can alter text rendering. Always eyeball the output. It is lossy in a way qpdf is not. (These two commands were not executed in our test environment — Ghostscript was not installed — so run them on a copy first.)
The GUI options
- PDF24 Creator (Windows, free, offline) — the best free GUI for non-technical users needing local processing. Merge, split, compress, convert, basic OCR, all on-device.
- Stirling PDF, self-hosted — the strongest free option for a team. 50+ tools behind a web UI on infrastructure you control. One Docker command gets it running. Verify the licence in the repository before commercial use; the homepage does not state it.
- LibreOffice Draw — free, cross-platform, and genuinely the only free GUI that edits PDF text directly. It converts each page to a drawing canvas with text frames. Fine for correcting a phone number on a simple native PDF. It mangles complex layouts and unusual fonts. Treat it as a repair tool, not an editor.
What free and open source does not give you: reliable text editing of complex layouts, PDF/UA accessibility tagging, professional Bates numbering, redaction with a proper mark-then-apply workflow, and document comparison. Those are the genuine reasons to pay.
What you already have
macOS Preview is better than most people realise. It reorders, rotates, deletes and inserts pages by drag-and-drop in the sidebar; merges PDFs by dragging one file’s thumbnails into another’s; extracts pages by dragging out; annotates; fills non-interactive forms by typing; signs from a saved trackpad or camera signature; and adds a password on export.
It cannot edit existing body text, cannot OCR to a searchable layer, cannot create interactive form fields, cannot redact, compare, Bates number or tag for accessibility. Its “Reduce File Size” filter is notoriously aggressive and image-destroying — use Ghostscript instead.
Windows built-ins are much weaker. Edge’s PDF viewer will view, annotate with ink, fill interactive forms, add typed text and print — but no text editing, no OCR, no page reordering, no merging, no redaction. “Microsoft Print to PDF” is a printer driver: it flattens everything and produces no text layer from an image source. Windows has no equivalent to Preview’s page management. For merge, split and rotate, PDF24 Creator or qpdf is the free answer.
What to actually buy
| If you… | Buy | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Handle a few files a month | Nothing. Preview + PDF24 Creator or PDFgear | If you hit a paywall three times in a month, Sejda’s $5 week pass beats a subscription |
| Run a small business needing forms and signatures | Foxit PDF Editor+, $159.99/user/yr | Full form designer, real redaction, OCR, comparison — about two-thirds of Acrobat Pro for teams |
| Work in legal or compliance | Acrobat Pro or Studio | The one case where Adobe’s premium is defensible: mark-then-apply redaction with sanitisation, Bates numbering with prefixes and ranges, batch redaction search |
| Run a team on a budget | Self-hosted Stirling PDF + 2-3 paid seats | Everyone gets merge/split/compress/OCR free; only those who need redaction and forms get a licence |
| Just need to merge and compress | qpdf and Ghostscript | Free, local, instant, scriptable. Do not pay a subscription for a solved problem |
| Handle privileged documents | Local desktop only, or self-hosted Stirling | With AI and cloud-sync features switched off |
That fourth row is what most cost-conscious teams should actually do and rarely consider. Licensing everyone is dramatically more expensive than a hybrid.
What each tool is genuinely bad at
- Adobe Acrobat — price, and a structure that seems designed to confuse: three billing mechanics times three tiers times individual/teams. The cancellation fee on annual-billed-monthly catches people who assume “monthly” means “cancel monthly.”
- Foxit — good software, confusing product line, and a metered AI credit system (300/month free, $49.99/yr for 2,000). Perpetual buyers get no feature updates.
- Nitro — undisclosed pricing is a real cost. You cannot budget without a sales call. Classic is Windows-only.
- PDF Expert — beautiful, and the weakest on professional features: no true redaction, no comparison, no Bates, thin OCR. The Mac-only lifetime licence is a trap.
- UPDF — perpetually “on sale,” which makes the list price meaningless. AI, Sign and Productivity Suite are separate purchases that stack.
- Sejda — deliberate free-tier throttling the pricing page does not quantify, and the web version uploads your files.
- Smallpdf — no published prices, a materially limited free tier, and no real editing depth. It is a conversion utility marketed as an editor.
- Xodo — the brand covers a weak web tool and a strong desktop app (PDF Studio) under one name, presented as variants of the same product. They are not.
- PDFgear — free with no stated business model, and no published statement on whether its online tools process locally.
- Stirling PDF — no text editing at all, Tesseract-grade OCR, and self-hosting is a real operational commitment.
- LibreOffice Draw — destroys complex layouts and font fidelity.
- macOS Preview — no text editing, no OCR, and a compression filter that visibly wrecks images.
Which free online PDF sites to avoid
Avoid any site that does not name a company and jurisdiction, gives no retention statement, asks you to install an extension or a “converter” binary to finish the job, appears in an ad slot above the real result, or mirrors a known brand’s name with an extra word or a different domain ending.
The failure mode is usually not theft. It is a low-quality operator with no deletion policy, no encryption discipline and no incident process, holding your document on a server you cannot audit. The named tools here at least publish a policy you can hold them to. If the file matters, do it locally — the qpdf commands above take ten seconds and never leave your machine.
Questions people ask
Why can’t I edit the text in my PDF?
Almost certainly a scanned image — there is no text in the file, only a picture of text. Run OCR first. If OCR has run and you still cannot edit, your tool is adding a searchable layer rather than replacing the image, and you need Acrobat, Foxit or a dedicated OCR product.
Why did the font change when I edited one word?
The PDF embeds only a subset of the font — just the glyphs originally used. Your new characters are not in it, so the editor substitutes. Get the source file and re-export if appearance matters.
Is a black box over the text safe?
No. The text is still in the file and can be extracted in seconds. You need a tool with a separate “apply redactions” step, then sanitise metadata separately, then verify by extracting text from the finished file.
Is a drawn signature legally binding?
In most US and EU jurisdictions, yes, for ordinary commercial contracts — under ESIGN/UETA and eIDAS’s Simple Electronic Signature tier. But its evidentiary weight comes from the audit trail around it, not the image. For EU documents requiring a Qualified Electronic Signature you need a qualified certificate from a Qualified Trust Service Provider, and no PDF editor provides that on its own.
Perpetual licence or subscription?
Foxit PDF Editor 14 at $209.99 one-time against $129.99 a year pays back in about 19 months, and Foxit is the only mainstream vendor still selling one. Buy perpetual if your workflow is stable; buy subscription if you need current OCR, AI and format support. Adobe no longer offers a perpetual Acrobat.
Which Adobe plan do I actually need?
Standard if you only edit, convert and fill forms. Pro the moment you need redaction, comparison, Bates numbering or accessibility tagging — which is most professional use. Studio only if you will genuinely use AI Assistant and Express. And take the annual commitment: month-to-month Pro is a 50 per cent premium for flexibility you probably will not use.
Do these websites keep my file?
Smallpdf says it deletes within one hour unless you save. PDF24 says the same and lets you delete manually. Sejda says permanently deleted with no backups, but publishes no duration. All three upload your file first. For anything confidential, use desktop software.
What we could not verify
- Nitro pricing — every figure. Plan names and the Windows-only perpetual Classic licence are verified; the dollars are not.
- UPDF pricing — every figure, across three URLs.
- Smallpdf pricing — Pro, Team and Business figures, and the exact free-tier daily cap.
- Sejda’s monthly price — the page text extracts ambiguously. The arithmetic implies $7.50, but we could not confirm it verbatim. Sejda’s exact free-tier numbers are not published either.
- Adobe’s retention and AI-training policy — both relevant pages returned 404.
- Adobe Acrobat Standard’s annual-prepaid price, and any pricing above 10 seats.
- Stirling PDF’s licence terms — the homepage states neither a licence nor a paid tier.
- PDFgear’s processing model — local or server-side is not stated anywhere.
- The Ghostscript commands above — Ghostscript was not installed in our test environment, so those two were not executed. The qpdf commands were.
The short version
- A scanned PDF has no text in it. OCR usually makes it searchable, not editable.
- Fonts break because PDFs embed only the glyphs used. Edit the source file if you have it.
- A black box is not redaction. Mark, apply, sanitise metadata, then verify by extracting text.
- Foxit PDF Editor+ at $159.99/yr is the value pick for a small business; Acrobat Pro only when you need Bates and batch redaction.
- Foxit is the last real perpetual licence, at $209.99 — paying back in about 19 months.
- qpdf and Ghostscript do merge, split, rotate and compress for free, locally, in seconds.
- Do not put privileged documents through a free web tool, whatever its deletion policy says.
Leave a Reply