The biggest thing that happened to calendar apps in the last year is that one of the best-known ones stopped existing. Clockwise shut down on 27 March 2026. Focus Time, Smart Hold events and Meeting Breaks were stripped out of users’ calendars, Scheduling Links stopped working, and user data was deleted shortly afterwards. Prepaid subscriptions running past that date were refunded pro rata.
Salesforce hired the team into its Agentforce group, but according to Salesforce Ben, Salesforce explicitly stated it was not acquiring Clockwise or its technology. That is an acquihire, not an acquisition, and the distinction is the whole story: nobody bought the product, so the product ended. Clockwise’s own shutdown page now points users at Reclaim.ai with a 100% price match guarantee. Reclaim, in turn, has been a Dropbox product since 20 August 2024.
So the short version for September 2026: the category consolidated, one well-liked tool died outright, and a second one quietly left. Amie, which used to be a calendar app people recommended, now leads with AI meeting notes and sells itself as having replaced Superlist, Notion Calendar and Granola for its users. It is still a good product. It is no longer really a calendar product.
What this article is, and what it is not
Workify’s tagline is that we actually test things. This piece is the exception, and we would rather say so in the third paragraph than bury it. Everything below is built from published pricing pages, official documentation, App Store listings and attributed public reviews, gathered on 13 September 2026. Nobody on this desk ran a two-week trial of nine calendar apps for this article. There are no screenshots of our own OAuth consent screens, no timing runs, no side-by-side sync tests.
That matters because several of the most interesting questions here can only be answered by hand, and we flag each one where it comes up rather than filling the gap with a guess. Every price, date and feature claim below traces to a named source. Where a vendor’s own page would not give up a number, we say so instead of borrowing one from a review site. All figures are as of September 2026.

What changed in the category, 2024 to 2026
Calendar software looked like a settled category in 2023. It is not one now. Here is every ownership, shutdown or repositioning event we could source to a dated page.
| Event | Date | What actually happened | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Clockwise shut down | 27 March 2026 | Product discontinued. Focus Time, Smart Holds and Meeting Breaks removed from calendars, Scheduling Links disabled, user data deleted shortly after. Prorated refunds on prepaid subscriptions | getclockwise.com |
| Clockwise team to Salesforce | Same period | Team joined Agentforce. Salesforce explicitly stated it is not acquiring Clockwise or its technology. CEO Matt Martin moved across; cofounder Gary Lerhaupt was already there | Salesforce Ben |
| Reclaim.ai acquired by Dropbox | 20 August 2024 | Terms undisclosed. Founders said there were no planned changes to pricing or support anytime soon. Stated scale at the time: 43,000+ companies, 320,000+ users | reclaim.ai/blog |
| Mayday Labs acquired by Apple | April 2024 | AI calendar and scheduling assistant. App shut down shortly after the acquisition. Only became public in May 2025, via a DMA disclosure to the European Commission | MacRumors, 9 May 2025 |
| Cron became Notion Calendar | No date published | cron.com now shows only “Cron is now Notion Calendar”. The current Notion Calendar page makes no mention of Cron at all | cron.com, notion.com |
| Amie repositioned | Pivot from Feb 2025 | Changelog shows AI notes getting dedicated navigation in February 2025; 2026 releases are meeting chapters, transcript summaries and speaker detection | amie.so/changelog |
| Microsoft rebranded business SKUs | Current at research date | Business Standard and Business Premium are now listed as “with Copilot” at $23.50 and $32.00 per user per month paid yearly; the older non-Copilot names are not shown | Microsoft 365 comparison page |
| macOS 27 “Golden Gate” | From 9.14 | Apple’s Mac page describes adding and editing calendar events from a plain description, encroaching on Fantastical’s signature feature | apple.com/macos |
Two of these deserve emphasis. The Clockwise and Mayday outcomes are the same outcome twice: a well-regarded AI calendar company was absorbed for its people, and the software stopped. If you are choosing a scheduling tool that rewrites your calendar every day, that is the failure mode to price in, not a feature gap.
The Reclaim situation is the opposite and worth reading carefully. Reclaim is now inside Dropbox, still shipping (its help centre carries a Reclaim 2.0 and Cursor integration article), and it is the destination Clockwise itself recommended, with a price match. Being the designated lifeboat for a dead competitor is a genuine short-term advantage. It is not a guarantee, because Clockwise’s users almost certainly thought they were safe too.
What everything costs, as of September 2026
Prices below come from each vendor’s own pricing page unless noted. Three vendors render their prices in JavaScript and would not give up a number to a fetch; those are marked and discussed in the could-not-verify section rather than filled in from elsewhere.
| Product | Free tier | Entry paid price | Next tier up | Billing note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google Calendar | Yes, with a Google Account | n/a for personal use | Google Workspace (price not verifiable, see below) | Workspace Starter, Standard and Plus cap at 300 users; Enterprise is uncapped; page advertises 16% off with a 1 year commitment |
| Apple Calendar | Bundled with the OS | n/a | n/a | No separate purchase exists |
| Outlook Calendar | Yes, 15 GB mailbox plus 5 GB cloud storage | Microsoft 365 Basic $1.99/mo or $19.99/yr | Personal $9.99/mo or $99.99/yr; Family $12.99/mo or $129.99/yr | Business Basic $7.00/user/mo paid yearly |
| Fantastical | Yes, free forever | Premium $6.99/mo or $56.99/yr | Premium for Families $10.49/mo or $89.99/yr | Prices from Flexibits’ own App Store in-app purchases; 14 day trial; team tier price not published |
| Notion Calendar | Yes, free | n/a | Notion Plus $10/user/mo, Business $20/user/mo | Calendar itself is free; Notion plan prices shown identically for monthly and annual, which looks like a rendering artifact |
| Vimcal | Yes, iOS only | $25/mo billed annually, $35/mo monthly | Vimcal EA $68.75/mo annually, $85/mo monthly | Free trial, no card required; Enterprise custom on both lines |
| Morgen | None | Pro $15/mo billed annually, $30/mo monthly | Team $10/seat/mo annually, $25/seat monthly, minimum 2 seats | 14 day trial, no card; 30 day money back guarantee |
| Motion | None | Pro AI $12.73/seat/mo annually, $19/seat monthly | Business AI $19.43/seat/mo annually, $29/seat monthly | AI credits metered with overage charges on top, see below |
| Reclaim | Yes, Lite, 1 user | Starter $10/user/mo yearly, $12 monthly | Business $15/user/mo yearly, $18 monthly; Enterprise $22/user/mo yearly | Starter caps at 10 users, Business at 100 |
| Akiflow | None | $19/mo billed annually | $34/mo billed monthly | 7 day trial only; both tiers are functionally identical, the only difference is billing period |
| Calendly | Yes, 1 event type | Standard $8.30/seat/mo annually, $10 monthly | Teams $12.80/seat/mo annually, $16 monthly | Enterprise starts at $15,000/year, minimum 50 seats, USD only |
A few things fall out of that table immediately.
The cheapest serious AI time-blocker is Reclaim’s free Lite tier, which is genuinely free forever for one user and includes 5 AI Agents, Focus Time, Habits, Buffer Time, Smart Meetings and Meeting Quality. Its integrations are restricted to Google Tasks, Slack, Zoom and Google Meet, so it is a real product with a real fence around it rather than a trial in disguise.
The most expensive per seat is Vimcal EA at $85 per month billed monthly, which is priced as an executive assistant replacement rather than as a calendar. Akiflow is the harshest on monthly billers: $34 monthly against $19 annual is a 44% penalty for not committing, on a product with no free tier and a 7 day trial.
Morgen and Akiflow are the two products here with no free tier at all. If you want to live inside a tool before paying, that narrows your options fast.
Motion meters AI like electricity, and replaces your task manager
Motion is the only product in this set that treats AI as a consumable. Pro AI includes 7,500 AI credits per seat per month and Business AI includes 15,000. Past that, you are billed $0.25 per 100 credits on Pro and $0.19 per 100 credits on Business.
That means the headline $12.73 per seat per month is a floor, not a price. We cannot tell you what a normal month of credit consumption looks like, because Motion does not publish a credit cost per action on its pricing page and we did not run the product to find out. What we can tell you is the shape of the bill: a seat fee plus metered usage, which is a materially different budgeting exercise from every other tool here.
Worth sitting next to that: billing is the leading complaint category in Motion’s Trustpilot reviews, where it holds a TrustScore of 3.7 out of 5 from 577 reviews. The recurring themes are unexpected charges, auto-renewal after trials and difficulty cancelling, including August 2026 reviews describing charges of $600 and $250 that the reviewers say they never authorised. We have not verified any individual billing dispute and cannot adjudicate them. The pattern across 577 reviews is still the pattern.
The App Store price gap is an open question, not a finding
Motion’s iOS App Store listing shows in-app purchases at $44.99 per month and $294.99 per year. Motion’s own website shows $19 per seat monthly and $12.73 annually. Those are not close.
We could not establish why. It could be an older SKU left in place, a different plan, Apple commission passed through, or something else entirely. We are not presenting either number as the price of Motion, and you should not either until someone resolves it. If you are evaluating Motion on mobile, check what the app actually charges you before you subscribe through the App Store.
| Where you look | Pro tier | Business tier | Extra charges |
|---|---|---|---|
| usemotion.com/pricing | $19/seat/mo monthly, $12.73 annual, 7,500 AI credits | $29/seat/mo monthly, $19.43 annual, 15,000 AI credits | $0.25 per 100 credits over allowance (Pro), $0.19 per 100 (Business) |
| iOS App Store in-app purchases | $44.99/month | Not broken out | $294.99/year listed |
| Gap | Roughly 2.4x the monthly web price | Unknown | Cause not established. Treat as unresolved |
Motion has no native task integrations at all
This is the single most decision-relevant fact about Motion and it is easy to miss. Motion’s integrations page lists Google Calendar, Microsoft Outlook 365, iCloud Calendar, Zoom, Teams, Google Meet, Gmail, Siri, Zapier and a public API. There is no native Todoist, Asana, Linear, Notion or Jira integration. Zapier and the API are your options.
Motion is not a layer over your existing task manager. It is a replacement for it, and it expects you to move in. Users say so too: a marketing professional reviewing Motion on Capterra flags that it does not integrate with other task management tools, and Motion’s own integrations page corroborates the complaint. Capterra puts Motion at 4.3 out of 5 across 89 reviews, with recurring themes of cost, learning curve, weak mobile and rigid auto-scheduling.
If you have a working Todoist or Linear setup and a team that depends on it, Motion is a migration project, not a purchase. That is a fair trade for some people and a dealbreaker for others, but it should be a decision you make knowingly.
How the auto-scheduling actually resolves
Motion’s documentation is unusually specific about the mechanism, which is to its credit. Five inputs go in: your availability, task duration (with optional chunking), deadlines, priority on an ASAP / High / Medium / Low scale, and real-time changes. They resolve through a fixed hierarchy. ASAP overrides everything. Hard deadlines come next and will schedule work outside your normal hours if that is what it takes. Then soft deadlines by due date, then priority, then duration and chunking, then recurrence, with recurring tasks beating one-off tasks.
What it will not move: existing calendar events and meetings marked busy, tasks before their start date, and your custom working hours or free/busy unavailable time. That is a constraint solver with a documented precedence order. Whether you call it AI is a marketing question, not a technical one.

Three different things are being sold as “AI scheduling”
The word is doing a lot of work across this category, and the three underlying mechanisms behave differently enough that you should know which one you are buying.
| Type | Products | What it does | How much control you keep |
|---|---|---|---|
| Constraint-solving time-blockers | Motion, Reclaim | Solves priority, duration, deadline and availability into calendar blocks. Reclaim sells the same category as “AI Agents”, metered per seat: 5 on Lite, 10 on Starter, 100 on Business, unlimited on Enterprise | Least. The calendar rewrites itself around your constraints |
| Human-in-the-loop planners | Morgen | Auto-repositions tasks while generating a plan, then stops. Once the plan is scheduled, it only notifies you of conflicts and offers a one-click reschedule | Most. Nothing moves after you approve it without your say-so |
| LLM assistants bolted on | Amie, Akiflow, Motion’s chat, Calendly’s Callie | Meeting recording, transcription, summaries, action-item extraction. Amie has gone furthest here | Varies, and mostly undocumented |
Morgen’s planner is the best-documented of the three and the least intrusive. Its inputs are native tasks plus tasks pulled from Notion, Todoist, Linear, ClickUp, Obsidian, Microsoft To Do and Google Tasks, your calendar events, user-defined “Frames” (time blocks assigned to types of work), priorities, deadlines, time estimates, and your stated power hours and interruption peaks. It rearranges freely while building the plan, then hands control back.
Two vendors market AI and do not say what it does. Akiflow includes an “Aki AI assistant with MCP Connector” in both tiers without describing its behaviour anywhere on the pricing page. Vimcal markets “artfully intelligent scheduling” on its homepage with no stated mechanism. Neither is necessarily bad software. Both are unevaluable from published material, which is the honest position to take on them.
Motion’s own App Store reviews contain the sharpest version of the general complaint, from a reviewer who read the behaviour as a constraint algorithm operating on settings they had entered rather than as AI. We have not verified that characterisation against the code, but Motion’s own auto-scheduling documentation describes exactly that kind of fixed precedence hierarchy.
Aggregators, layers and replacements
The cleanest way to sort this category is by what it assumes about your existing task manager. Three postures exist, and picking the wrong one is how people end up with two systems and trust in neither.
| Product | Todoist | Asana | Linear | Notion | Jira | ClickUp | Posture |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Akiflow | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Aggregator. Widest native task coverage here, also adds Trello and Microsoft To Do |
| Reclaim | Yes | Yes | Yes | No native | Yes | Yes | Layer. Books time for tasks that live elsewhere; does not want to be your task manager |
| Morgen | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | No | Yes | Aggregator with two specific holes: no Asana, no Jira |
| Motion | No | No | No | No | No | No | Replacement. Zapier and public API only |
| Notion Calendar | — | — | — | Native | — | — | Native to its own databases, with drag-and-drop editing of database items from the calendar |
| Fantastical | Yes, as a calendar backend | — | — | — | — | — | Also reads Apple Reminders |
| Amie | — | — | Yes | Yes | — | — | Integrations listed: HubSpot, Notion, Slack, Linear, Pipedrive, Attio |
Morgen’s missing Asana support is a specific, checkable gap rather than a vague one. If your team runs on Asana, Morgen is out on a single line item, and it is better to find that here than three days into a trial.
Akiflow’s widest-coverage claim comes with a caveat from its own users. Its G2 rating is 4.8 out of 5 across 99 reviews, the highest in this set, but on a small base. The top complaint category is missing features, 18 of those 99 reviews, covering deeper Notion integration, iOS calendar integration and task dependencies. A small-business co-founder reviewing on G2 says the Notion sync is limited and that more data should sync. That is the integration Akiflow lists and the one users complain about most, which is worth noting before you buy for that reason alone.
The OAuth scope finding: only one vendor publishes the list
If you install a scheduling tool, you hand it standing access to your calendar, and in several cases your mailbox and your organisation’s directory. We went looking for published, itemised OAuth scope lists across all nine products. We found exactly one.
Reclaim publishes the whole thing on its security page. That is the finding, and it deserves credit: no other vendor in this set enumerates what it asks for. It is also worth being clear about what the transparency reveals, because a published scope list is not the same thing as a modest scope list.
| Scope | Provider | What Reclaim’s own page says it grants | Required? |
|---|---|---|---|
| calendar.events | View and edit events on all your calendars | Yes | |
| calendar | See and download any calendar you can access, not just events you own | Yes | |
| contacts.readonly | Read access to contacts | Yes | |
| contactgroup.readonly | Read access to contact groups | Yes | |
| directory.readonly | See and download your organization’s GSuite directory | Yes | |
| tasks | Google Tasks access | Optional | |
| gmail.compose | Create new drafts, for the Gmail add-on | Optional | |
| gmail.readonly | Read open message metadata | Optional | |
| Calendars.ReadWrite | Microsoft | Read and write on calendars in all mailboxes | Yes |
| MailboxSettings.Read | Microsoft | Used to retrieve the user’s timezone | Yes |
| Calendars.Read.Shared | Microsoft | Shared calendar read access | Yes |
| User.Read, openid, email, offline_access | Microsoft | Identity and refresh tokens | Yes |
Read the second row again. Reclaim’s Google access is not limited to events it created or even events you own. Its help centre states plainly that permissions span Google Calendar, Google Tasks and Google Workspace including Gmail. The Microsoft equivalent covers calendars in all mailboxes. If you are the kind of admin who reviews scope grants before approving an app, this is a substantial ask, and you can only review it because Reclaim wrote it down.
Reclaim also carries SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, CCPA and Data Privacy Framework compliance per the same page.
Everyone else: could not verify, and that is the point
Fantastical, Notion Calendar, Motion, Akiflow, Morgen, Amie and Calendly do not publish scope lists we could find. Vimcal does not either, though it makes the most conservative architectural claim in the set: its security page describes the product as a UI on top of the Outlook and Google Calendar APIs, with calendar data fetched directly from the providers rather than from Vimcal’s servers and stored on the client’s device. Vimcal holds SOC 2 Type II and GDPR, and says ISO 27001 is in the final stages of obtaining. But its security page does not enumerate scopes and does not state whether Gmail access is requested, so the conservative claim is a claim, not a verified inventory.
Two products in this set are near-certain to request mailbox-level scopes based on features they advertise. Amie shipped Outlook calendar sync and Gmail integration on 5 August 2026 and records meetings across Zoom, Google Meet, Slack Huddle, Microsoft Teams, Whereby and Webex without bot participants. Akiflow integrates Gmail and Outlook Email. Neither publishes what it asks for.
This is the single highest-value piece of original reporting available on this topic, and it is exactly the sort of thing we would normally do rather than write about. Running each OAuth consent screen and screenshotting what it requests is a day of work that nobody appears to have done. Until someone does, treat the absence of a scope list as unknown rather than as safe. If you are evaluating any of these for a team, read the consent screen before you click allow, and screenshot it for your own records.
Fantastical has a timing problem worth watching
Two facts, both sourced, neither of them conclusive on its own.
First: the Mac and iOS App Store listings both show Fantastical at version 4.1.19, released 1 September 2025. At the time of this research that is roughly a year without a version bump on either platform.
Second: Apple’s own macOS page for macOS 27 “Golden Gate”, starting 9.14, describes adding and editing calendar events from a plain description, and adjusting the details by editing that description. Natural-language event entry was Fantastical’s founding differentiator. Apple now ships it in the bundled Calendar app.
We are not writing Fantastical’s obituary. A quiet year can mean a big release in progress, or a stable product that does not need changing, or a team busy elsewhere. Flexibits was running a Black Friday sale banner on its pricing page at research time, which is not the behaviour of a company that has walked away. What we can say is that the two facts together make Fantastical the product in this set with the most obvious risk to watch, and that the risk is checkable: look at the App Store version number before you buy a year of Premium.
A second, smaller issue. Flexibits does not publish what separates free Fantastical from Premium. Its pricing page says Premium unlocks new features without listing them. The only concrete split we could source anywhere is the weather forecast, 3 days on free versus 10 days on Premium, from the App Store listing. For a $56.99 a year purchase that is thin documentation, and the team tier price is not published at all, only its billing basis.
| Item | What is published | What is not |
|---|---|---|
| Individual price | $6.99/month or $56.99/year, from Flexibits’ own App Store in-app purchases | The website’s own pricing page renders the figures as placeholders |
| Family price | $10.49/month or $89.99/year | — |
| Team price | Billed per user per month annually | The actual number |
| Free vs Premium split | Weather forecast 3 days free, 10 days premium | Everything else the upgrade buys |
| Platforms | Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Apple Vision Pro and Windows; Cardhop excludes Windows | — |
| Backends | iCloud, Google, Exchange, Office 365 and Todoist | — |
| Last release | 4.1.19, 1 September 2025, both platforms | Any published roadmap or release cadence |
Scheduling links: Google’s free tier undercuts Calendly’s
This is the most practically useful and least discussed finding in the research. Google Calendar’s appointment schedules work on free personal Google Accounts. Google’s own support documentation notes that some appointment schedule features require an eligible Google Workspace or Google One subscription, so it is not the full feature set, but the basic booking page is there at no cost.
Calendly’s free tier, by contrast, gives you exactly one event type and one calendar connection, one-on-one scheduling only. If your entire need is “let people book a 30 minute call with me,” you are buying very little by starting on Calendly free rather than using the appointment schedule already sitting in the Google Calendar you have open.
Calendly earns its price at the team end. It has by far the largest independent review base here, 4.7 out of 5 across 2,648 reviews on G2, and the Teams tier buys round-robin, lead routing and qualification, centralised event management, and Salesforce, Marketo and Pardot connections. The complaints on G2 cluster around three things: useful features locked behind higher tiers, occasional calendar sync glitches where already-booked slots show as available (a double-booking risk), and rigidity in how strictly it honours stated availability.
| Product | What the free tier gives you | What the paid tier adds | Limits worth knowing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Google Calendar | Appointment schedules on a personal account | Some appointment features require Workspace or Google One | Google does not specify which features are gated, on the page we could source |
| Calendly | 1 event type, 1 calendar connection, one-on-one only | Standard: unlimited event types, automations, reminders, HubSpot, Mailchimp, Stripe and PayPal payments | Standard still caps calendar connections at 6 |
| Reclaim | Lite includes Smart Meetings | Starter: 3 scheduling links, 3 calendar syncs, 8-week scheduling range. Business: unlimited links and syncs, 12-week range | Link count is a tier lever, not a soft limit |
| Vimcal | iOS free tier gives drag-and-copy availabilities | Unlimited personal booking links and polls on the $25–$35/mo desktop tier, plus removal of the Vimcal signature | Booking links require the paid desktop tier |
| Fantastical | Free tier exists, split not documented | Openings (availability link that auto-blocks on conflict) and Proposals (offer several slots, see attendee availability) | Which tier gates which is not published |
| Notion Calendar | Free product | n/a | Scheduling links and timezone visualisation are advertised; the help articles documenting their limits 404’d |
Time zones
Vimcal makes time zones the entire product thesis, marketing an end to mental math and displaying overlapping work hours across zones. The EA tier explicitly supports five simultaneous time zones, along with auto-created and auto-deleted holds, time-slot history, calendar audits, executive preferences, account handoff and one-to-one onboarding. That is a specific product for a specific job: managing someone else’s calendar professionally.
The caution on Vimcal is evidence, not quality. It shows 4.5 out of 5 on G2 from a single review. One review is not a review base. The sole reviewer cited limited colour customisation and non-customisable keyboard shortcuts, which tells you almost nothing about how the product holds up in daily use. Vimcal raised a $4.5M seed led by Altos Ventures per its PR Newswire release, and we found no acquisition.
Fantastical handles time zones with automatic conversion on event cards. Morgen supports the widest set of calendar backends in this group: Google, Outlook, iCloud, Fastmail, CalDAV and subscription calendars, and it is the only product here with a Linux desktop app alongside Windows, macOS, iOS, Android and web.

What users actually complain about
All of the below is attributed to a named public review source. Reddit was not reachable to our research tooling, so none of this is Reddit sentiment; it is Capterra, G2, Trustpilot and App Store listings. Review ratings are summarised with their sample sizes, because a 4.8 on 99 reviews and a 4.7 on 2,648 are not the same claim.
| Product | Rating and base | Dominant complaints | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calendly | 4.7/5, 2,648 reviews | Features locked behind higher tiers; calendar sync occasionally shows already-booked slots as available, creating double-booking risk; rigidity in honouring set availability | G2 |
| Motion | 4.3/5, 89 reviews | Cost, learning curve, weak mobile, no third-party task integration, rigid auto-scheduling. One attorney reviewer describes the auto-scheduling as feeling rigid when more flexibility is wanted | Capterra |
| Motion | 3.7/5, 577 reviews | Billing is the leading category: unexpected charges, auto-renewal after trials, difficult cancellation. Also AI hallucinations and poor prioritisation | Trustpilot |
| Motion | 4.1/5, 1.9K ratings | No widgets, weak Siri integration, desktop-first design | iOS App Store |
| Akiflow | 4.8/5, 99 reviews | Missing features is the top category (18 of 99): deeper Notion sync, iOS calendar integration, task dependencies. Integration issues second (10 reviews) | G2 |
| Amie | 3.4/5, 128 ratings | Weakest consumer rating in this set. Requests for natural-language input, iPad support, better Things 3 sync, landscape mode, travel time. One reviewer says the company repeatedly missed deadlines on the promised Apple Calendar integration | iOS App Store |
| Vimcal | 4.5/5, 1 review | Limited colour palettes, non-customisable keyboard shortcuts. Effectively no independent review base | G2 |
| Fantastical | n/a | No version bump since 4.1.19 on 1 September 2025; free versus Premium split not published | App Store, flexibits.com/pricing |
On mobile specifically, Motion’s own support reply in its App Store reviews is the most direct admission available:
Motion is still primarily a desktop app at the moment
Motion’s reply to an iOS App Store reviewer
If mobile is where you plan your day, that sentence is worth more than any feature list. For comparison, Amie’s iOS app sits at version 1.15.20 dated 6 August 2025, is iPhone only with no iPad version, and requires iOS 15.0 or later.
Platforms and calendar backends
| Product | Platforms | Calendar backends | Notable |
|---|---|---|---|
| Outlook Calendar | Windows, macOS, Android, iOS, web; included free with Windows | Microsoft account ecosystem | Free tier includes 15 GB mailbox and 5 GB cloud storage |
| Fantastical | Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Apple Vision Pro, Windows | iCloud, Google, Exchange, Office 365, Todoist | Cardhop is Apple-only; Fantastical itself is not |
| Notion Calendar | macOS, Windows, iOS, Android | Google Calendar named explicitly; others could not be verified | Notion database items appear on the calendar and can be edited by drag and drop |
| Vimcal | Browser, iOS, Mac, PC | Google Calendar and Outlook only | No iCloud or CalDAV support |
| Morgen | Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android, web | Google, Outlook, iCloud, Fastmail, CalDAV, subscription calendars | Only product here with a Linux desktop app and the broadest backend support |
| Motion | Desktop-first, iOS app exists | Google Calendar, Outlook 365, iCloud Calendar | Also Zoom, Teams, Google Meet, Gmail, Siri, Zapier, public API |
| Amie | iPhone only on iOS, no iPad app | Unlimited Google and Apple calendars; Outlook sync and Gmail shipped 5 August 2026 | Records meetings on Zoom, Meet, Slack Huddle, Teams, Whereby, Webex without bot participants |
| Akiflow | Could not be verified | Gmail, Google Calendar, Outlook Calendar, Outlook Email | Platform coverage is not published on the pages we could fetch |
| Google Workspace tiers | Web, Android, iOS (not confirmable from an official page) | Storage: Starter 30 GB, Standard 2 TB, Plus 5 TB, Enterprise 5 TB upgradeable |
Morgen is the answer to two questions nobody else answers well: what runs on Linux, and what reads a CalDAV or Fastmail calendar. If either applies to you, the shortlist is one item long. If you are also weighing how your calendar connects to the rest of your stack, our comparisons of email clients cover the other half of the same problem.
What we could not verify
This section is the point of the article, not an apology for it. Each item below is something a buying guide is expected to tell you, that we could not source to a primary vendor page.
- Google Workspace per-user prices. Google’s pricing pages render their figures in an interactive calculator and returned no static numbers to us, across three separate Google-owned URLs including the admin editions comparison. We can tell you the plan names (Business Starter, Standard, Plus, Enterprise), the 300-user cap on the first three, the storage per tier, and that Google advertises 16% off with a one year commitment. We will not fill in the dollar figures from a review site. Get them from a signed-in checkout flow.
- Amie’s current Pro and Business prices. The pricing table renders, the dollar figures do not. Historical figures from Amie’s own February 2025 changelog put Personal at $6–10, Pro at $15–20 with 15 AI notes and Business at $21–30 with unlimited AI notes, but those are eighteen months old and the tier names have already changed. Amie’s iOS App Store listing shows in-app purchases of Amie Pro at $4.99 to $249.99, Amie Personal Monthly at $14.99 and Amie Personal Yearly at $99.99, and “Personal” no longer appears on the web pricing page at all. None of that resolves into a current price.
- Calendly’s Notetaker and Callie add-on prices. Both are paid add-ons on Standard and Teams. Calendly’s pricing page names them and does not price them.
- Fantastical’s team tier price and the exact free-versus-Premium feature split. The billing basis is published; the number is not.
- Motion’s App Store versus website price gap. $44.99 monthly and $294.99 yearly on iOS against $19 and $12.73 on the web. Cause not established.
- OAuth consent screens for everything except Reclaim. Nobody else publishes a scope list. We did not run the consent flows ourselves, so the scopes requested by Fantastical, Notion Calendar, Motion, Akiflow, Morgen, Amie, Calendly and Vimcal are unknown, not confirmed-safe.
- Notion Calendar’s scheduling-link and time-zone limits. The product page advertises both features. All three help articles we tried returned 404.
- Akiflow’s platform list. Desktop and mobile coverage is not enumerated on the pages we could fetch.
- Notion’s monthly versus annual pricing. The pricing page showed identical figures, $10 and $20, for both billing periods. That looks like a rendering artifact rather than a real price structure, and we are flagging it rather than reporting it as fact.
- Google Calendar’s official platform list. calendar.google.com/about is disallowed to automated fetching, so we could not confirm the platform list from a Google-owned marketing page.
- Reddit sentiment. Blocked to our research tooling entirely. Every user complaint in this article comes from Capterra, G2, Trustpilot or an App Store listing.
- What a normal month of Motion AI credit consumption costs. Motion publishes the allowance and the overage rate but not a credit cost per action, and we did not run the product.
The verdict
Hedged where the evidence hedges, which in this category is often.
If you just need a calendar, you already have one. Google Calendar and Apple Calendar are free, and Google’s appointment schedules cover basic booking links on a personal account without paying Calendly anything. macOS 27 adds natural-language event entry to the bundled Calendar app. The bar for paying for a calendar in 2026 is higher than it was in 2023.
If you want your task list scheduled for you and you already have a task manager, look at Reclaim or Akiflow, not Motion. Reclaim is a layer: free for one user, $10 per user per month yearly on Starter, and it integrates Todoist, Asana, Linear, Jira and ClickUp. Akiflow has the widest native task coverage at $19 a month annually, with the honest caveat that its own users say the Notion sync is the weak link. Motion is a replacement with no native task integrations at all, and moving in is the price of entry.
If you buy Motion, budget for metered AI. The seat price is a floor. Credits are consumable, overages are billed at $0.25 or $0.19 per 100, and billing complaints dominate a 577-review Trustpilot profile at 3.7 out of 5. Resolve the App Store price gap before you subscribe on mobile.
If you want the least intrusive automation, Morgen. It rearranges while planning and then stops, it reads the widest set of calendar backends including CalDAV and Fastmail, and it is the only Linux option. It has no free tier and no Asana integration, and both of those are hard stops for some people.
If you manage someone else’s calendar for a living, Vimcal EA is built for exactly that, at $68.75 per month billed annually, with five simultaneous time zones, calendar audits and account handoff. Go in knowing the independent evidence base is one G2 review.
On Fantastical, check the version number first. Nothing has shipped since 4.1.19 on 1 September 2025 and Apple now ships the headline feature for free. That is a risk to weigh, not a verdict, and a $56.99 annual commitment is the thing to be careful about rather than the software itself.
On privacy, assume broad access unless told otherwise. Reclaim is the only vendor that tells you, and what it tells you is that it reads any calendar you can access and, optionally, your Gmail metadata. Everyone else’s ask is undocumented. Read the consent screen. That single habit is worth more than any of the comparison tables above.
Figures throughout are as of September 2026 and every one of them comes from a vendor page, an App Store listing or a named review site. If a number you need is missing here, it is missing because we could not source it, not because we forgot. More comparisons built the same way are in our guides index, and if you are rebuilding your whole daily stack, our read-later app comparison takes the same approach to a smaller category.
Leave a Reply